Jands Lighting
It is currently Sat Nov 16, 2019 9:50 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 That Darn Blinking Problem 
Author Message
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post That Darn Blinking Problem
I've searched and this has been brought up several times but I've not seen anyone say, "Ah ha. So that was the problem." No one ever brings the thread to a conclusion with what actually fixed their problem.

The first response is always, "Do you have a dongle?" But no one ever responds with the answer.

Okay, here's my problem. Brand new S1 with a Mac Mini (El Capitan 10.11). ETC Sensor Racks. 2048 Dongle.

YES, WHEN I CHECK ABOUT Vista, I SEE A COUNT OF 2048.

Every 10 minutes all the lights go out for a fraction of a second and then come back on.

I've swapped out the Mac Mini and the S1. No joy. There's no problem if I hook up the old ETC Express.

HELP HELP HELP.


Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:52 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:09 pm
Posts: 956
Location: Austin, TX
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
What build of Vista have you installed? Make sure you are on the latest build 17736 and S1 firmware of 877.

Are all power saving options of the Mac turned off? More specifically, no USB sleep settings and App Nap disabled for Vista.

_________________
Ben Coleman

Technical Sales Support
Jands/ChromaQ
AC Lighting, Inc


Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:16 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
alfsauve wrote:
...
Every 10 minutes all the lights go out for a fraction of a second and then come back on.
I've swapped out the Mac Mini and the S1. No joy. There's no problem if I hook up the old ETC Express.
HELP HELP HELP.

Hi, Can you open a support ticket here:
https://jands.com/support-vista-v2/supp ... uest-form/
Please include your console serial number and attach:
- a copy of your Vista logs (select the 'Export logs option from the Vista Help menu)
- a Mac system report (Apple menu > About this Mac > System report)

Also let us know if this happens every 10 minutes irrespective of whether you are using the console or not

David Mulholland
JANDS Pty Limited


Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:26 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Sorry for the dropout this weekend. Major 4 day event on campus that sucked up all my time.

Yes, I'm using release 17736. Will have to see about the board firmware.

I'm back at it tomorrow and will try:

-A different USB cable.
-See if this happens just on one universe or both
-IF it's just the main universe, see if there's a way to slow down the DMX rate.
-Open a support ticket with all the supporting info.

Alf


Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:32 am
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Finally some time alone with my S1. Happy Valentines.

Changed USB cable. Still Blinks.

It isn't exactly every 10 minutes. Sometime more frequently. Sometimes less. Blinked twice in 30 seconds but that was over 20 minutes ago.

Believe it's only Universe 1 which runs an ETC Sensor rack. U2 is for LED fixtures and we haven't seen it blink there.

Yes, S1 firmware is 877

Just found the DMX rate in the "Playback" menu. Who'd thunk? Playback would seem to be CUEs. Haven't set that yet.

Have submitted a ticket. BUT had to rename the logs ".txt" otherwise it kept saying, "invalid file type"


Wed Feb 14, 2018 6:48 am
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
It isn't the DMX rate. I lowered it from 30 to 15 and the problem still occurs.

It only happens to the dual Sensor racks.

Am working with JANDS support.

Hate to ask for money to upgrade the CEM and that not fix the problem.


Thu Feb 15, 2018 1:35 am
Profile
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:33 pm
Posts: 233
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
We've had some issues where a DMX splitter would fix an 'errant' DMX issue.

May or may not have anything to do w/ your odd issue - the Chauvet DataStream4 is inexpensive and has worked well for us. There are many other devices but might be worth a try.

_________________
Andrew Van Veld
Circle City Audio
Indianapolis/Ft Wayne, IN/USA
S3, S1 available for rentals/demos


Thu Feb 15, 2018 3:53 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
alfsauve wrote:
Have submitted a ticket. BUT had to rename the logs ".txt" otherwise it kept saying, "invalid file type"

I've fixed the form so it will accept '.spx' (Mac system report format) files. But there shouldn't have been any problem with the '.zip' log files.


Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:33 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Yeah-h-h-h-h-h. We have a solution.

Vista is pretty smart. It also is capable of handling a lot of Universes and Fixtures, but sometimes the computer being used might not have enough umph. Or it might overwhelm the USB port.

So in order to take up less cycles, Vista will, on any Universe that's not changing, severely reduce the output rate. The computer then has more cycles to spend on the other universes. Still within DMX specs, BUT, depending on signal quality arriving at the rack, and how robust, within the DMX standards, the rack processor is, the processor can make the mistake of thinking it received a packet with all zero values. It then turns everything off, but immediately turns them back on when the next packet arrives.

[I hope I've paraphrased that correctly.]

HOW TO FIX:

All it takes to override this "feature" of Vista is to have some varying activity on the Universe. Add a non-existent fixture, a PAR, and set an FX to continually vary its intensity.

Jands support and I are exploring some other settings to see if they make a difference.


LONG TERM: The next major release of Vista may have a setup option to turn this feature on/off.


Thank you David @ Jands Support.


Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:19 am
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 6:15 am
Posts: 59
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
:o :o :o


Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:21 am
Profile
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 306
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Great to know!!!!

_________________
David Long
Lighting Designer
First Baptist Woodstock, GA

L5, S3, M1 and two S1s


Fri Feb 23, 2018 5:02 am
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 2:54 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Wrap-up as I promised.

Installed the latest version of V2, 18326, and have tested it over several weeks. Probably have accumulated about 20 hours of static usage (set and forget for a service) with NO blinking problem.

Yeah-h-h-h. Thank you JANDS for being upfront with the problem and for the fix.

Though of course, if everybody upgrades it will not occur again and this thread can be deleted, but I promised to share the resolution.

But if you're getting occasional blinking and it's not a dongle/license issue, take a hard look at the DMX rate, which can cause a problem if the conditions are just right.


Fri Mar 23, 2018 1:21 am
Profile
Registered
Registered

Joined: Thu May 10, 2018 11:21 pm
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Just wanted to say a quick 'Thank-you' for posting this. Seems I ran into the same problem. Client with an S1, but only using it for basic 'on/off' of zones, while using the same computer to run ProPresenter (so Vista's just running in the background). Everything was fine, until Sunday morning. Dongle was registered properly. Did a service call, everything was fine. Left, and things went nuts. I found your post before returning for another service call.

What's killing me is that it's not just a loss of DMX, as all of the fixtures were set to 'Hold'. Whatever happens when it goes into powersave mode was actively shutting down the fixtures.

Whatever. I disabled the power save mode, and also added a cuelist for an effect on a fake fixture as a test, in case it does it again. Here's hoping this solves it!


Thu May 10, 2018 11:43 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:09 pm
Posts: 956
Location: Austin, TX
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
Running Pro Presenter and Vista on the same machine is never advised. Macs are really not good at multitasking and PP needs more system resources than Vista. This means that more often then not the Mac will give PP the bulk of the system and push Vista to the background.

_________________
Ben Coleman

Technical Sales Support
Jands/ChromaQ
AC Lighting, Inc


Fri May 11, 2018 1:16 am
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 112
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post Re: That Darn Blinking Problem
A problem and a fix, great post!


+10pts

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Mon May 14, 2018 12:45 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.