Jands Lighting
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:13 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node 
Author Message
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 112
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
We were controlling PP6 with Vista but since we added another ethernet connection for a DMXKing eDMX4 PRO, PP6 no longer sees artnet. I've gone back to our original set up and it still doesn't work.

I can ping the computer but I don't know how to check an incoming artnet signal. Both computers are Macs, Vista is on a mac mini, Propresenter is on an iMac.

Any help is appreciated!

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:27 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
Have you checked that the correct network interface is selected in Vista - File > User Preferences > Network


Wed Oct 10, 2018 1:05 pm
Profile WWW
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 112
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post Re: Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
After changing it I lost control of my output out of the DMXKing eDMX4Pro. Is there a way to send out art net to two different IPs?

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:00 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
Drhodes wrote:
After changing it I lost control of my output out of the DMXKing eDMX4Pro. Is there a way to send out art net to two different IPs?

You can send Artnet to devices with different IPs but they both need to be connected to the same network output (i.e. the wired Ethernet port on your Mac). Do all three devices have IPs on the same subnet?


Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:33 am
Profile WWW
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:48 pm
Posts: 112
Location: San Diego, California
Reply with quote
Post Re: Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
The edmx is 192.168.0.100, the iMac I’m connecting to is 172.20.50.15. I need to keep the iMac connected to that network, maybe I could come out of the Mac mini into a switch, one cable goes to the edmx and another straight to the iMac in a separate port as the 172.20... address and I manually give the iMac a 192.168... ip for that connection. Do you know if that would work?

Unfortunately I won’t be able to test until next week if I’m lucky. As of right now I’m bypassing the node and going hard out of the console.

_________________
Daniel Rhodes
Lighting Director
North Coast Church
Vista, California
www.northcoastchurch.com


Thu Oct 11, 2018 5:00 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: Lost Artnet control after adding 2nd artnet node
Drhodes wrote:
The edmx is 192.168.0.100, the iMac I’m connecting to is 172.20.50.15. I need to keep the iMac connected to that network, maybe I could come out of the Mac mini into a switch, one cable goes to the edmx and another straight to the iMac in a separate port as the 172.20... address and I manually give the iMac a 192.168... ip for that connection. Do you know if that would work?.

You'll need to have all three devices on the same subnet. i.e. use DHCP or manually set the mac mini and edmx address to something on that network (i.e 172.20.50.100, 172.20.50.101)


Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:42 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.