Jands Lighting
It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 9:01 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Solo In Place 
Author Message
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Solo In Place
I feel like this has been mentioned before (but i can't find it). I would love it if there was a way to do something like Solo In Place (to take something from the audio world). This could work similar to Hi-Lite, but when i press this button, all fixtures (not just selected) would go to the low-lite preset and only the selected fixture would highlight. This would differer from hi-lite in that hi-lite requires you to select the fixtures that you want included and then it cycles through low-lighting all but the selected fixture. I don't want to have to select every fixture in my console, i just want to press this button and then select a light and that one fixture turns on to hi-lite, and all other fixtures go to low-light.

Thoughts? I know this is a dangerous option, but not any more dangerous than the DBO button, which is a hard button on the main console.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Fri Feb 07, 2014 5:49 am
Profile WWW
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 306
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
I would LOVE this! Would be a great feature for larger shows.

_________________
David Long
Lighting Designer
First Baptist Woodstock, GA

L5, S3, M1 and two S1s


Sat Feb 08, 2014 10:01 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:51 am
Posts: 1156
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
Yes it has but it's better to re mention it,it would be lovely and very usefull! :lol:


Sat Feb 08, 2014 6:31 pm
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:22 am
Posts: 86
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
Huh. That would make some things WAY easier.

_________________
--
Evan Palumbo, Director of Technical Arts
Central Baptist Church
Jonesboro, AR


Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:01 pm
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 5:15 am
Posts: 37
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
+1.

Would be SO great to be able to quickly check what exactly a single lights current intensity is having by soloing it. Now the only question is mono or stereo :)

_________________
www.robmerow.com


Wed May 28, 2014 2:59 am
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:36 am
Posts: 20
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
+1 on this from me as well

_________________
Douglas Scarborough
Lighting Designer
Christ Chapel Bible Church
Fort Worth, TX


Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:47 am
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:34 am
Posts: 61
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
+1


Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:58 pm
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:48 pm
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
+1


Sun Aug 24, 2014 11:09 pm
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
Just wanted to renew this request as I think this feature would be really helpful.

The new Solo function in the Beta is nice. But it does not help to see what a single fixture is doing right at this moment.


Wed Apr 22, 2015 6:17 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
So it has been a long time but I have been working on an MA2 the last few days and they have a Solo button does this exact thing. It was awesome, and i used it. now i really want it on my Vista.. please??? :D

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Tue May 05, 2015 5:15 am
Profile WWW
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 471
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
Your comments have been noted.

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Thu May 07, 2015 6:25 pm
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:36 am
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
I know this an old thread and thankfully with the 2.3 release we got the Solo in Place function, but I think there is still room for improvement here.

What I really (desperately ;) ) want is the same behaviour as found in the GrandMA 2: The Highlight function highlights, The Solo function solos (no highlighting), if you have both of them active it's Highlight Solo.

The big advantage: if you want to see whatt a single light or group of lights does in a specific cue, it retains intensity, colour and beam.


Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:31 pm
Profile
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 471
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
robinetto wrote:
What I really (desperately ;) ) want is the same behaviour as found in the GrandMA 2: The Highlight function highlights, The Solo function solos (no highlighting), if you have both of them active it's Highlight Solo.

The big advantage: if you want to see whatt a single light or group of lights does in a specific cue, it retains intensity, colour and beam.


Just like in the GrandMA, you need to edit the highlight preset to contain only intensity if you do not want it to clear out the other parameters when activated.

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:24 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:54 pm
Posts: 194
Location: Little Rock, AR
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
peterr wrote:
Just like in the GrandMA, you need to edit the highlight preset to contain only intensity if you do not want it to clear out the other parameters when activated.


If you want the highlight feature to work like a solo, then yes, you do need to edit the highlight preset. However, on the GrandMa, the highlight key highlights the selected lights (takes out gobo, beam, color, etc. or more specifically puts those lights into the highlight preset) and the solo key simply takes the intensity of any fixtures not selected to 0%. It doesn't do anything to the selected lights. FX, color, beam all retain how they are in the current look. It's a really helpful feature to have and the MA does this by default. You don't need to edit any presets to accomplish it.

Apart from theatrical uses, and maybe rigs with a ton of fixtures, I haven't actually been able to think of a reason I would use the highlight solo feature as is on the jands. I use the solo all the time on my MA, however, and rarely use highlight. In fact, it's bitten me once already with a volunteer accidentally pushing it during a service... but there are plenty of buttons that could be catastrophic that way by accident.

-Tyler

_________________
Lighting and Stage Designer
Fellowship Bible Church
Little Rock, AR


Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:24 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Solo In Place
RobMerow wrote:
Would be SO great to be able to quickly check what exactly a single lights current intensity is having by soloing it. Now the only question is mono or stereo :)

you can already do this....

right click in the output window and select "follow fixture selection"

your output window will now only display information regarding the fixtures you've selected

to change it back, right click and select 'show all fixtures'

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:11 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.