Jands Lighting
It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 9:28 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 MIDI Gate 
Author Message
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post MIDI Gate
Hi there, it would have been nice to be able to set the mode of the MIDI Cue play/release to gate as well as latch/toggle like it is now. I've written a small program for Processing that manipulates the MIDI data to get this behavior, but it has its caveats (if the cue is running, it will gate it off instead of on), and relies on a third party program which isn't very handy when using different consoles/computers.

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:56 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:13 pm
Posts: 519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Magneson wrote:
Hi there, it would have been nice to be able to set the mode of the MIDI Cue play/release to gate as well as latch/toggle like it is now. I've written a small program for Processing that manipulates the MIDI data to get this behavior, but it has its caveats (if the cue is running, it will gate it off instead of on), and relies on a third party program which isn't very handy when using different consoles/computers.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by 'gating' in this context. What are you trying to acheive ?


Fri Sep 05, 2014 2:19 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Gate behavior from the button. Instead of triggering or latching the cue, it will only play as long as you hold the button down (like the flash buttons).

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Fri Sep 05, 2014 7:21 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
So almost like an temporary arm or enable button. So midi doesn't play (or whatever you have midi set to do for that cuelist) unless you are holding a button down on that cue-list? As soon as you release the button that list stops responding to midi?

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Fri Sep 05, 2014 9:14 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
No, the MIDI starts the cue when you press the controller button/pad, and then release the cue when you release the controller/pad.

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:00 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Oh, your talking about midi control of the flash button. Sorry, I though you were talking about holding the flash button to enable midi.

Rumors have it that the flash button will be midi controllable in an upcoming software update.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Sat Sep 06, 2014 4:08 am
Profile WWW
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 471
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Rumours might be true, but they are just rumours....

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Sat Sep 06, 2014 4:06 pm
Profile
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Great news (if it's true)! I had a longer test of the small MIDI modifier I wrote yesterday, and while it's working quite well, there is some noticeable lag, most likely because of the MIDI data getting routed a bit around before going in to Vista. I'm happy to report that it seems to work well from Vistas part as well. Granted, I've only had simple cues with "modifiers" in them (a few strobes, a few movement, a few colors, and a few chases), but stacking a lot of them works just fine. Very fun indeed!

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Sat Sep 06, 2014 7:18 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:10 am
Posts: 161
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
I get around this by creating cues with a release command in it, just 0.2 seconds after its triggered. This works as I am using MIDI to trigger strobes. The strobes are 10v analogue controlled via a DMX to analogue box I built, so just need a split second pulse.

_________________
Dooza Lighting
http://www.dooza.tv
Vista M1


Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:43 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:29 am
Posts: 18
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
More MIDI control beyond basic cue triggering would be very much appreciated. Most especially, MIDI tap tempo / MIDI clock in for FX sync!


Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:43 am
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:10 am
Posts: 161
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
There is a hell of a lot that could be done.

_________________
Dooza Lighting
http://www.dooza.tv
Vista M1


Sat Sep 20, 2014 5:53 am
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
I've used the release command trick before, but that won't hold the cue running as long as you hold the button. I've worked around it with a processing sketch, I would post it, but I'm not sure how Jands would feel about that (technically, it's just a modification of the midi signals going into Vista, so it doesn't break any license agreements).

It's really simple to write it as well with the midibus library, you just pass along the midi data from your controller, but add a second note on/off signal on the note off from the controller, and then use it on the midi play/release in the cue properties.

Expanded button control by midi is something I don't get why they don't allow for. It's not like Jands has a 8x8 pad controller in the market.

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:03 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:10 am
Posts: 161
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
MIDI flash is a commonly asked for feature, I am sure it is around the corner.

You seem to know your MIDI controllers, is there anything out there that will light up when pressed, and then turn off when released or pressed again? Its great triggering cues from MIDI, but I don't always remember what is on. I guess the hard part is for it to know what has been released by another cue playing.

Steve

_________________
Dooza Lighting
http://www.dooza.tv
Vista M1


Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:40 pm
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 7:41 am
Posts: 39
Location: Norway
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
That largely depends on the controllers capabilities, and how it's configured. On one of my controllers, which only has one color backlight, I set it in its own editor. There I can select the behavior of the pad/button (gate/toggle/trig) and it will light up accordingly. With newer multi-colored pad systems I think it is configured by routing midi back into the controller. Haven't tried this with a newer controller that I have since it is used for different stuff. Checking the manufacturers forum about this stuff is usually a good source for info, as manuals can be a bit lacking in this aspect - especially if it is a dedicated controller of some sort.

_________________
Jands Vista S3
Mac Mini, OSX 10.9


Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:22 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:10 am
Posts: 161
Reply with quote
Post Re: MIDI Gate
Which one do you currently use?

_________________
Dooza Lighting
http://www.dooza.tv
Vista M1


Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:04 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.