Jands Lighting
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:26 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Commandline 
Author Message
Registered
Registered

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:00 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Commandline
- an option in the preferences to choose a dedicated hid keyboard for command line only messages would be lovely
i think it was mentioned earlier in the forum so it is more a bump for the topic

- a tcp port for scripting like the serial port, would open the possibility for the community to build a iPhone / android riggers remote

thanks in advance to consider the request
& happy new year

clemens


Mon Jan 05, 2015 9:22 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Commandline
m_theater wrote:
- a tcp port for scripting like the serial port, would open the possibility for the community to build a iPhone / android riggers remote

the I3, T2, T4 and L5 consoles all have a VNC server built in. If you connect them to a wireless network than you can control all functions of the desk from any mobile device quite easily as there are a number of free viewers available

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:25 am
Profile
Registered
Registered

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:00 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Commandline
thanks for the hint

i am "just" using a M1 on a PC / MAC
but i think my old android phone can't handle this big VNC Streams and the screen size of the phone is so limited …

it is a hard decision between a clean gui and all the feature requests,

and this is the reason why we bought a vista wing and not a chamsys one
what you see is what ………


Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:12 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Commandline
Macs also have a built in VNC server

you could also use any other screen sharing software, or screen extension software and just add a floating fixture chooser (view -> add floating window -> fixture chooser) or other windows to your external screen (phone) to minimize what you actually see

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:21 am
Profile
Registered
Registered

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 2:00 am
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Post Re: Commandline
i know it is possible i am just pointing out the convenience factor of communication a even homemade app
:)


Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:49 am
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 4:22 am
Posts: 86
Reply with quote
Post Re: Commandline
I learned long ago that VNC is not a replacement for a native app. It is nice if you are sitting at another computer or an iPad, on the ground, in a lovely chair with a desk and power and not the threat of your device falling to its death, but it is massively unwieldy to try to pull out any VNC client on an iPhone while on a catwalk or hanging off a scissor lift 30-60+ feet in the air. At that point, the phone falling is less of a danger to itself than the people standing underneath you. Triggering lights for focusing and testing should be as simple as humanly possible in these scenarios. As it is, here's the process for moving a fixture and testing it in every VNC app, from free to $20 and above, I've used:
1. Unlock phone
2. Find app
3. Find computer in list of apps available
4. Wait for connection
5. Connection failed. Try again. Wait 30 seconds.
6. Connection succeeded. Try to find the fixture chooser
7. Connection failed. Try again. Wait 30 seconds.
8. Connection restored. Found fixture chooser. Select fixture
9. Wrong fixture. Select the right one
10. Awkwardly scroll around to find the patch page
11. Fixture is in wrong universe. Carefully try to drag fixture up to correct universe
12. Drop 5 times on the way there
13. Connection failed. Try again. Wait 30 seconds.
14. Connection restored. Get fixture to right address
15. Highlight. Now we're making progress! Lock phone and put in pocket.
16. Pull it out: app has closed. Start again from beginning.
This process should be as follows:
1. "Siri, open Byron"
2. Auto connect succeeded. Fixture chooser shows.
3. Select fixture. Select settings. Change universe number.
4. Push highlight.
5. Lock phone and put back in pocket.
6. Pull it out. Auto connect succeeded. Start where you left off.
Of course, once you're back on the ground in your cushy chair, VNC works great for position presets and general programming around the venue. An app wouldn't need access to everything, just some basic essentials.

_________________
--
Evan Palumbo, Director of Technical Arts
Central Baptist Church
Jonesboro, AR


Mon Apr 06, 2015 3:21 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.