Jands Lighting
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:14 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3 
Author Message
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
I am loving the ability to have different tabs in the side bar, especially in 2.3. I have the Custom Feature Browser, Smart FX, Features, and Components tabs. One thing i would live to would be to have a shortcuts for each of the tabs. In my mind the perfect solution would be just the numbers (1 for tab 1, 2 for tab 2, ect.) I would also love to be able to arrange the tabs in a specific way. Currently they are fixed in a specific order. Now, i know you can do Ctrl+1 for Features, Ctrl + 2 Components, Ctrl+3 for Smart FX, but if all things that could be in the sidebar could have a shortcut that would help make programing even faster. I would also love not to have to hit Ctrl+#. I know if you have the command line open, you can't just hit a number, but if the command line is closed, it would be killer to just use the numbers for the tabs.

My fingers normally rest on the f1-f4 keys when i am programing and jumping around between different windows, so to have another set of shortcuts right below would be killer.

Just a thought.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:56 am
Profile WWW
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 471
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
Jared,
It actually is already possible to re-arrange them by undocking and redocking (drag don't double click) the one you want first.
I'd say it might be possible for us to add ctrl+# for the rest of the tabs, but we wouldn't be able to do just the number as number is used widely in the software, not just command line.

What you could do is get a set of programmable keys that would let you put the ctrl+# on a single button. X-Keys are quite popular in the industry http://xkeys.com/XkeysKeyboards/index.php There are also other manufacturers who make programmable keys, but I'm not sure if any else have it in the compact strip format like the X-Keys sticks.

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Sun Apr 26, 2015 3:01 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
The x-keys are a good idea. We use them in other places but I had not thought about for this. Can I use them on a Linux console (L5)?

That would be very helpful to at least add a CTRL+# for all the tabs. That would allow something like the x-keys to work.

That does bring up another thought, I wish we could write macro's within the software and be able to assign them to a physical button. So you could write a macro then in console view add a new tab for macro's and be able to drag them to a physical console button just like a play or pause button.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Sun Apr 26, 2015 6:03 pm
Profile WWW
Jands R&D
Jands R&D

Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 am
Posts: 471
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
As far as I'm aware, as long as you program the x-keys on windows, it should work, you will just have to check the the ctrl can be held while the number is also sent.

What macro's would you want to write?

_________________
Peter Rubie
Console Applications Tester - Jands Pty Ltd


Sun Apr 26, 2015 8:29 pm
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3 - Macro's
I run across different things at different times. Off the top of my head a few things like:

Update macro:
If i change some lights, an update macro that would update the current cue playing on the selected cuelist. Yes, you can do update or store part, but there are several steps to each of these. But when programing if i could just run a macro that opens the update window, makes the selections needed to update the current cue and close the box that would be awesome.

Renumber macro:
I am editing a cuelist, but have added cues and copied cues so the numbers need to be set. I have to press renumber cues (which i have on an F-key to speed up the process a little) select auto then okay.

Cuelist properties:
A macro that sets up auto play & Release on a cuelist. I don't want this setup to be my show default, but it could save several steps.


I would love to set up a programing layout that has just a section of macro's do do things. Just a couple quick examples. I could also use the X-keys to fire a macro's if possible. It would be cool to write macro's that open dialogue boxes, make selections and close it. It's all about speeding up programing.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Mon Apr 27, 2015 3:57 am
Profile WWW
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 167
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
+1 on the macros. I'd love a macro recorder that you could do anything and save it as a macro.


Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:29 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:54 pm
Posts: 194
Location: Little Rock, AR
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
+1 on all of this. :)

_________________
Lighting and Stage Designer
Fellowship Bible Church
Little Rock, AR


Wed Apr 29, 2015 2:02 am
Profile
Regular
Regular

Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:49 pm
Posts: 63
Location: rimini italy
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
+1 on the macros

_________________
T2 M1


Wed Apr 29, 2015 6:09 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
Oh, another thing i want macro's for (or some other way of changing) is different display configurations and layouts (what is on each screen, how they are laid out, ect) as well as a way to have a button push for different fixture layout tabs and a button push for Q-view on/off.

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Fri May 01, 2015 10:45 am
Profile WWW
Contributor
Contributor

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:39 pm
Posts: 13
Reply with quote
Post Re: Sidebar Shortcuts in 2.3
+1 For macros.
About the idea for the " Update" macro. I'm wondering if a double Click on "Update" instead of pressing "update" and then "Enter" would be a better option ?


Sun Nov 08, 2015 1:27 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.