Jands Lighting
It is currently Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:28 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Macro's 
Author Message
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Macro's
I brought up Macro's in another thread (http://jands.com//forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=3810) but i think it deserves its own topic. I do think macro's would be a super helpful thing to have, but in the mean time, using something like X-Keys i have written basic macros. For example, here is one that auto re-numbers all the cues in an open cuelist. I have written a few others on here that do things like align things in a timeline or set the timing to zero or open other windows.

video

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Wed May 13, 2015 12:57 am
Profile WWW
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 553
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Reply with quote
Post Re: Macro's
Very slick!

Macros have been requested by several users and I believe is on the list for future enhancements

As far as implementation (after macro creation is added to vista anyways), would being able to assign custom macros to function key be useful, or would making them additional components (like snapshots, presets, etc) so you can assign them to console buttons be better?

_________________
Elevation Audiovisual
www.elevationav.com
Taking your event to the next level


Wed May 13, 2015 1:37 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Macro's
My initial response would be to have them implemented the same as presets or groups, only because you have more options for them them. You could have them in a favorites page or QP page, or assign them to physical console buttons. I don't know if there is a way to do both though? Either they could also show up in a new menu that lists macro's or even better, be able to drag them in console view from the right side pools to the top icons (F1-12).

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Wed May 13, 2015 1:52 am
Profile WWW
Major Contributor
Major Contributor

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:22 am
Posts: 306
Reply with quote
Post Re: Macro's
Since there are already so many things assignable to the F keys could it be assigned to something else? Such as a number key as long as Command Line was not open?

_________________
David Long
Lighting Designer
First Baptist Woodstock, GA

L5, S3, M1 and two S1s


Wed May 13, 2015 12:48 pm
Profile
Frequent Contributor
Frequent Contributor

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 167
Reply with quote
Post Re: Macro's
For the PC users- check out Autohotkey in the meantime. You can do almost anything.

That being said - Bring on the macros - If they can be like presets lets have the ability to use them in a cuelist like a command as well. I can see all sorts of good uses there.

J


Thu May 14, 2015 12:25 am
Profile
500+ Club
500+ Club

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 pm
Posts: 761
Location: Decatur, GA
Reply with quote
Post Re: Macro's
Jeff Neubauer wrote:
If they can be like presets lets have the ability to use them in a cuelist like a command as well. I can see all sorts of good uses there.
I like that!!! that would be huge!!

_________________
Jared Roman
Production Director
Decatur City Church

Vista L5, I3, T4, T2, M1, and whatever else I can get my hands on.


Thu May 14, 2015 12:56 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.